Advertiser disclosure: this service is free because providers pay us. How that works

Rankings

The best medical alert systems of 2026.

Six providers, compared on the same five criteria. Start with the table, then read the ones that fit.

Reviewed September 2026

Medical alert providers compared on fall detection, contract, activation and battery
RankProviderBest for Fall detectionContract Activation feeMobile battery
1Medical GuardianBest overallAdd-onNo long-termNone (FAQ)Up to 5 days (Guardian Flex)
2Bay Alarm MedicalBest valueIncluded on SOS HomeCancel anytimeNone stated1–6 days (by model)
3MobileHelpBest for couplesAvailableMonth-to-monthNot statedUp to 6 days (Elite)
4LifeFoneLongest batteryNot confirmedCancel anytimeNot confirmedUp to 16 days (VIPx)
5LifelineMost establishedAdd-onNo long-termSetup fees chargedUp to 4 days (On the Go)
6GetSafeNo pendant neededOptional on pendantsNot statedNot statedConsole, no worn device

Specifications as published by each provider and checked in September 2026. LifeFone's site could not be read directly. Fall detection terms differ by provider and device.


Best overall

1. Medical Guardian

Four devices on one service, from a home base to a smartwatch

  • Up to 1,400 ft home range
  • Up to 5 days mobile battery
  • Four devices on one service
  • No long-term contract

Medical Guardian's case is breadth. Its four devices — MGHome Landline, MGHome Cellular, the Guardian Flex mobile device and the MGMove smartwatch — sit on one service, so a change in someone's routine means changing the device rather than changing company. It states a home range of up to 1,400 feet for its at-home devices.

Family can follow the MGMove's location history and step data through Medical Guardian's portal and app. Its FAQ states no long-term contract and no equipment, activation or cancellation fees, although its home page footer says cancellation fees may apply. The full Medical Guardian review covers each device.

What stands out

  • Four devices on one service, from a home base to a smartwatch
  • Stated home range of up to 1,400 feet
  • FAQ states no equipment, activation or cancellation fees
  • 24/7 U.S.-based monitoring, TMA Five Diamond certified

What to watch. Fall detection is an add-on, and the MGMove smartwatch needs charging daily. Medical Guardian's FAQ and home page footer disagree on cancellation fees, so ask.

Monitoring24/7, U.S.-based
Range (home)Up to 1,400 ft
BatteryUp to 5 days (Guardian Flex)
Water resistantYes (shower)
Caregiver appYes
Activation feeNone (per FAQ)

Best value

2. Bay Alarm Medical

No startup or cancellation fees, and fall detection included on its home system

  • 800–1,000 ft home range
  • Two U.S. monitoring centers
  • Fall detection on SOS Home
  • Cancel anytime

Bay Alarm Medical covers the fundamentals without add-on charges. It states no long-term contracts, no cancellation fees and no additional startup fees, and includes automatic fall detection with a pendant on its SOS Home system. Its mobile devices, the SOS All-In-One 2 and SOS Micro, offer fall detection as an option.

It runs two U.S. monitoring centers, in Ogden, Utah and Rexburg, Idaho, both CSAA 5-Diamond certified, so an outage at one does not have to take the service down. The full Bay Alarm Medical review covers each device.

What stands out

  • Two U.S. monitoring centers, both CSAA 5-Diamond certified
  • Fall detection included with a pendant on SOS Home
  • No long-term contracts, cancellation fees or startup fees
  • In-home buttons stated to last up to five years without charging

What to watch. Mobile battery is given only as a range — one to six days depending on model and use — and the home page does not say whether equipment is charged separately.

MonitoringTwo U.S. centers, 24/7
Range (home)800–1,000 ft
Battery1–6 days (mobile, by model)
Water resistantNot stated
Caregiver appYes
Activation feeNo startup fees

Best for couples

3. MobileHelp

The Duo System covers the home and one person away from it

  • Up to 1,400 ft home range (Cellular)
  • Duo System for two people
  • Caregiver app included
  • Month-to-month

If two people in one house both need a button, MobileHelp's Duo System is built for that household. MobileHelp describes it as covering both "inside your home and away from home": one person is covered by a cellular base station at home while the other carries a mobile device when they go out.

The limit is worth knowing before you order. Inside the house both people are covered, but away from home only the person with the mobile device is. A couple who both go out separately would need a second mobile device. The full MobileHelp review covers the device line-up and the questions to ask.

What stands out

  • Duo System covers the home and one person away on a single system
  • No contract: month-to-month, cancel any time
  • Elite mobile device stated at up to 6 days of battery
  • MobileHelp Connect lets family check status and locate the mobile device

What to watch. The Duo covers only one person away from home, and Classic Landline's stated range is 600 feet against 1,400 for Classic Cellular. Activation and equipment fees are not stated in MobileHelp's FAQ.

MonitoringUS-based, 24/7
Range (home)Up to 1,400 ft (Cellular)
BatteryUp to 6 days (Elite)
Water resistantYes
Caregiver appYes
Activation feeNot stated

Longest battery

4. LifeFone

A mobile device LifeFone says runs up to 16 days on a charge

  • Up to 1,300 ft home range
  • Up to 16 days battery (VIPx)
  • Price lock once subscribed
  • 30-day money-back

LifeFone's standout is battery life: it says its VIPx system runs up to 16 days on a full charge, the longest figure among the providers we rank. Battery life across its other On-The-Go systems varies from 24 hours to 10 days, so check the figure for the device you are offered.

LifeFone also advertises a 30-day money-back guarantee, a price that never increases once you subscribe, and a customizable emergency response plan. Its website blocks automated access, so these details come from LifeFone's pages as shown in search results — confirm them with LifeFone. See the full LifeFone review.

What stands out

  • Up to 16 days of battery on the VIPx, per LifeFone
  • Price stated never to increase once you subscribe
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • Customizable emergency response plan

What to watch. Battery life varies widely across LifeFone's devices, and we could not read LifeFone's site directly, so confirm each detail with LifeFone before ordering.

MonitoringNot confirmed
Range (home)Up to 1,300 ft
BatteryUp to 16 days (VIPx)
Water resistantNot confirmed
Caregiver appVIPx caregiver app
Activation feeNot confirmed

Most established

5. Lifeline

More than 50 years in the business, with waterproof devices

  • 800 ft home range
  • Up to 4 days mobile battery
  • Waterproof devices
  • No long-term commitment

Lifeline is the longest-running name on our list: it says it has served more than 7.5 million people over the past 50 years. Its HomeSafe system has an 800-foot range and a 30-hour backup battery, and its On the Go mobile device is stated at up to four days per charge.

Lifeline states its help buttons, mobile systems and smartwatches are waterproof to one meter for 30 minutes. AutoAlert fall detection is an add-on, and Lifeline itself says it does not detect every fall. See the full Lifeline review.

What stands out

  • More than 50 years in business, per Lifeline
  • Waterproof devices, to one meter for 30 minutes
  • 30-hour backup battery on the HomeSafe
  • No long-term commitment and no service cancellation fee

What to watch. Lifeline is the only provider we rank whose published information states setup fees — an activation fee and a programming fee. Fall detection is an add-on.

MonitoringOwned and operated, 24/7
Range (home)800 ft
BatteryUp to 4 days (On the Go)
Water resistantWaterproof (1 m, 30 min)
Caregiver appYes
Activation feeSetup fees charged

No pendant needed

6. GetSafe

Call for help by voice, a button or a pull cord, with a pendant optional

  • Voice activated
  • Wall buttons where falls happen
  • Pendant optional
  • Two U.S. monitoring centers

GetSafe is built for someone who will not wear a pendant. You can get help by saying "call 9-1-1", pressing a button on the console, or pulling the cord on a wall button placed by stairs, in bathrooms, kitchens and hallways. Pendants are optional, with and without fall detection.

It lists 24/7 monitoring from two CSAA Five Diamond centers in Ogden, Utah and Rexburg, Idaho — the same centers as Bay Alarm Medical. Its published pages do not state contract terms, cancellation fees or whether there is a caregiver app. See the full GetSafe review.

What stands out

  • Call for help by voice, with nothing worn
  • Wall buttons with pull cords where falls happen
  • Optional pendants, with or without fall detection
  • Two U.S. monitoring centers, CSAA Five Diamond

What to watch. GetSafe's published pages do not state contract terms, cancellation fees or whether there is a caregiver app, and wall buttons cannot help away from home.

MonitoringTwo U.S. centers, 24/7
Range (home)Sized by bedrooms
BatteryNo worn device required
Water resistantButtons waterproof
Caregiver appNot stated
Activation feeNot stated


Common questions

How do you rank these providers?

They are ranked by editorial judgment against five published criteria: monitoring, total cost of ownership, equipment and coverage, contract terms, and support and caregiver tools. Reviews are built from providers' published specifications; we have not tested the systems hands-on. The full method is on our methodology page.

Why don't you show prices?

Rates change constantly, and a stale figure on a comparison site is worse than no figure at all. A specialist quotes the current number for the plan that fits, with every add-on itemised.

Do these need a landline?

Not necessarily. Most medical alert systems now come in a cellular version, and mobile devices work on the cellular network. MobileHelp, for example, sells both Classic Landline and Classic Cellular home systems. Check which options a provider offers before you order.

Is fall detection included in the monthly plan?

It depends on the provider and the plan. Some charge for it as an add-on; others include it on certain devices. Ask directly whether it is included for the device you are getting. Whether it is worth paying for depends on the person — our fall detection guide covers when it earns the money.

Are there contracts?

Month-to-month service is common in this market. MobileHelp, for example, states that it requires no contract and can be cancelled at any time. Activation and equipment fees vary and are not always published, so ask before you order.

What if two people in the house need one?

Many providers can add a second button to one account rather than opening a second subscription. MobileHelp's Duo System covers the home and one person away from it. Covering two people explains where that works and where it leaves a gap.

What if they won't wear a pendant?

That is the most common reason these systems fail. There are voice-activated systems with nothing to wear, and watches that do not read as medical devices — see when they refuse to wear it.

Does Medicare pay for any of this?

Original Medicare generally does not. Some Medicare Advantage plans offer it as an extra benefit, and some state Medicaid waivers cover it. Our Medicare guide lists the official sources and how to check which applies to you.

Six providers is still a lot.

Answer six questions and we'll narrow it to the two or three worth your time.